Primary Curriculum​

The Key Stage 1 and 2 curriculum is taught in primary and follows a primary model. Pupils stay in primary until year 7 when they begin their transition into upper school which follows a secondary model.

The following subjects are taught in Primary:

  • Maths – through maths makes sense
  • Literacy – through RWI and text types
  • Music – taught through Charanga music programme
  • PE – taught following the national curriculum.

The following subjects are taught through topic based lessons following the National Curriculum:

  • Science
  • Geography
  • History
  • ICT
  • Art
  • Design and technology

All our teachers work together to develop our planning. Where possible, we make links between subjects as this ensures our pupils have a broad understanding of the topics they learn.

There are five classes in primary (LS1, LS2 LS3, LS4, LS5). Classes are of mixed ability and ages and there are a maximum of seven children per class, with a teacher and a teaching assistant assigned to each group. Children are grouped according to ability for Literacy and Maths lessons.

Lower school assessment is based on the assertive mentoring programme. Progress is tracked every half term and there are intervention programmes that children are referred to if sufficient progress is not made.

Children in year 6, working at level 3 or above, will be entered for year 6 SATS.

Call: 0114 279 6850 Email:
Call: 0114 245 6305 Email: